2022 Annual Report



S+SNZ Awards and Honours

A refreshed awards programme was introduced in 2021 to celebrate professional excellence and outstanding service to the sector. Just under three hundred people gathered to celebrate at a black-tie evening held during the 2021 conference held at the Cordis Hotel Auckland which was Sponsored by GSI Partners.





Rachelle Winefield was winner of the premier award receiving the Supreme McRae Award for Professional Excellence. Rachelle received this award for her leadership and vision that has positively impacted the sector, economy and community.

The Supreme Award was decided by the judges from the winners of each stream's Professional Excellence award winner:

Lyndon Telfer, Cadastral Award for Professional Excellence

Elaine McAlister, Spatial Award for Outstanding Service

Timothy James, Land Development & Urban Design Award for Outstanding Service

Bruce Walker, Engineering Surveying Award for Outstanding Service

Rachelle Winefield, Positioning and Measurement Award for Professional Excellence

Emily Tidey, Hydrography Award for Outstanding Service.



Bogle Young Professional of The Year Award

Bailey McNutt, Adam Musa and Emma Cook were the finalists for the Bogle Award - Young Professional of the Year, with the award being given to Emma for her initiative, innovation and leadership, and contributions to the professional community. This year's exam awards included Jason Zhou and Rachel Charlesworth - both awarded the Percy Dyett Award for excellence in the preparation of projects for the Professional Entrance Exams which is part of the process of qualifying to be a Licensed Cadastral Surveyor.

Examination Awards



State Sector Award

The State Sector award for the highest placed candidate in the Cadastral Law Exam went to Mateusz Baranski.

Percy Dyett Award



Rachel, Kat and Jason

This year's exam awards included Jason Zhou and Rachel Charlesworth - both awarded the Percy Dyett Award for excellence in the preparation of projects for the Professional

Entrance Exams which is part of the process of qualifying to be a Licensed Cadastral Surveyor.

Technical Cadastral Stream Award

Re-introduced this year, the Cadastral Survey of the Year Award

which was awarded to Wally Sanford for SO 486878.



Emily Tidey, Wally Sandford and Rachelle Winefield.

Fellowships

Kat Salm, S+SNZ President had the honour of welcoming two new Fellows to the organisation at the Annual General meeting held in Wellington and online, 4 November 2021.

Rebecca Strang



Rebecca Strang is the previous past President who was nominated by Andrew Stirling and Mark Allan. She has been described as an " an awesome leader for Survey and Spatial NZ. Being the first woman President, it was an important change and affirmed the progress the organisation was making at that time. She inspired those around her with the effort she put into the President role

while handling a major new professional role in Aurecon and being mother to two primary school kids. Lucky for us she had such great support from David and her employer."



Dr Chris Ferens Pearson

Chris is the second new 2021 Fellow. He was nominated by Prof John Hannah and Rachelle Winefield for his "outstanding contribution to S+SNZ and to its international standing."